Laboratoire de Physique et Chimie des Nano-objets

Institut National des Sciences Appliquées
135 avenue de Rangueil, 31077 TOULOUSE CEDEX 4 - FRANCE
Tél : 00 33 05 61 55 96 45 | Fax : (+33) (0)5 61 55 96 97

Partenaires

CNRS
INSA


Choose your site's language


          Version Française           English Version

Search

On this website



Home page > LPCNO > Archives > Actualités 2010 > Room-temperature defect-engineered spin filter based on a non-magnetic semiconductor.

Room-temperature defect-engineered spin filter based on a non-magnetic semiconductor.

X. J. Wang et al., Nature Materials 8, 198 (2009)

Room-temperature defect-engineered spin filter based on a non-magnetic semiconductor.


Collaboration Quantum Optoelectronics Group LPCNO with University Linköping (Sweden) and LPN Marcoussis (France).


Generating, manipulating and detecting electron spin polarization and coherence at room temperature is at the heart of future spintronics and spin-based quantum information technology. Spin filtering, which is a key issue for spintronic applications, has been demonstrated by using ferromagnetic metals diluted magnetic semiconductors, quantum point contacts, quantum dots, carbon nanotubes, multiferroics and so on. This filtering effect was so far restricted to a limited efficiency and primarily at low temperatures or under a magnetic field. Here, we provide direct and unambiguous experimental proof that an electron-spin-polarized defect, such as a Ga, self-interstitial in dilute nitride GaNAs, can effectively deplete conduction electrons with an opposite spin orientation and can thus turn the non-magnetic semiconductor into an efficient spin filter operating at room temperature and zero magnetic field. This work shows the potential of such defect-engineered, switchable spin filters as an attractive alternative to generate, amplify and detect electron spin polarization at room temperature without a magnetic material or external magnetic fields.

Principle of defect-engineered spin filtering at room temperature and without any magnetic field (B=0). A schematic illustration of the spin-filtering effect of conduction electrons via spin-polarized defects in a non-magnetic semiconductor, for example, Ga self-interstitials in GaNAs.

- Upper Panel: Temporal evolution of the band-to-band photoluminescence spectra (by detecting the total photoluminescence intensity) after sX and s+ -polarized pulsed laser excitation, respectively. Time-integrated photoluminescence spectra, under sX (black curve) and s+ (red curve) excitation, are shown in the inset.
- Lower Panel: Decay curves of the total intensity of the band-to-band photoluminescence under sX and s+ excitation, normalized to their peak intensity for easy comparison. All results were obtained at room temperature and B=0.

Laboratoire de Physique et Chimie des Nano-objets

Institut National des Sciences Appliquées
135 avenue de Rangueil, 31077 TOULOUSE CEDEX 4 - FRANCE
Tél : 00 33 05 61 55 96 45 | Fax : (+33) (0)5 61 55 96 97

Partenaires

CNRS
INSA


Choisir la langue du site


          Version Française           English Version

Rechercher

Sur ce site



Accueil du site > LPCNO > Archives > Actualités 2010 > Filtre à spin fonctionnant à température ambiante basé sur le contrôle des défauts dans un semi-conducteur.

Filtre à spin fonctionnant à température ambiante basé sur le contrôle des défauts dans un semi-conducteur.

X. J. Wang et al., Nature Materials 8, 198 (2009)

Filtre à spin fonctionnant à température ambiante basé sur le contrôle des défauts dans un semi-conducteur


Collaboration : Groupe Optoélectronique Quantique LPCNO, Université de Linköping (Suède) et LPN Marcoussis (France).


Générer, manipuler et détecter la polarisation et la cohérence de spin des électrons à température ambiante est au coeur de l’électronique de spin du futur et du traitement de l’information quantique basée sur le spin. Le filtrage de spin a déjà été démontré en utilisant des métaux ferromagnétiques, des semiconducteurs magnétiques dilués, des nanotubes de carbones, des multiférroïques etc... Cependant, cet effet de filtrage était jusque là d’une efficacité limitée et nécessitait des basses températures ou l’utilisation d’un champ magnétique externe. Ici, nous prouvons de manière expérimentale que les défauts électroniques (centres paramagnétiques) polarisés en spin induits par les atomes de Ga placés en intersticiel dans la matrice de GaAsN peuvent dépleter de manière efficace les électrons de conduction dont les spins possèdent une orientation opposée à celle des électrons localisés sur le centres et peuvent donc transformer le semiconducteur non magnétique en un filtre à spin efficace opérant à température ambiante et sous champ magnétique nul. Ce travail montre le potentiel de l’utilisation contrôlée de ces défauts comme une importante alternative pour générer, amplifier et détecter des électrons polarisés en spin à température ambiante et sans champ magnétique externe.

Principe du filtre à spin à température ambiante et sans champ magnétique (B=0). Une illustration schématique de l’effet de filtrage de spin des électrons de conduction grace aux défauts polarisés en spin dans un semiconducteur non-magnétique, par exemple induit par le positionnement des atomes de Ga en intersticiel dans GaAsN.

- En Haut : évolution temporelle du spectre de la photoluminescence bande à bande (en détectant l’intensité totale de la photoluminescence) après une excitation laser pulsée polarisée respectivement sX et s+. Les spectres de photoluminescence intégrés en temps sont montrés dans l’insert sous excitation sX (courbe noire) et s+ (courbe rouge).
- En bas : Déclins de l’intensité totale de la photoluminescence sous excitation sX et s+ et, normalisée au pic d’intensité pour faciliter la comparaison. T=300K et B=0.