Laboratoire de Physique et Chimie des Nano-objets

Institut National des Sciences Appliquées
135 avenue de Rangueil, 31077 TOULOUSE CEDEX 4 - FRANCE
Tél : 00 33 05 61 55 96 45 | Fax : (+33) (0)5 61 55 96 97

Partenaires

CNRS
INSA


Choose your site's language


          Version Française           English Version

Search

On this website



Home page > LPCNO > Groups > Nanotech > Main research topics > Nanomarkers

Nanomarkers

Based on the directed assembly technique of nanoxerography, the Nanotech team has developed secured marking stickers also called nanomarkers or nanotags.

It is about reproducing via the electrostatic directed assembly of colloidal nanoparticles, a logo, a pattern or a code of desired geometry whose dimensions can vary from micrometer to millimeter. Assembled nanoparticles have photoluminescent properties that could be activated and observed under certain experimental conditions (magnification, light intensity, light wavelength, filters, …). These nanomarkers are then transferred into or onto a product of interest (plastic cards, official documents, luxury products, etc…).

Depending on targeted applications, few types of nanoparticles are synthesized in the team and then assembled individually or coupled between each other in function of the degree of security/traceability to be reached. To realize it, it is possible to play with the complexity of the nanoparticle synthesis, their quantum yield, but also with the size and the geometry of the pattern or with the complexity of the required reading device.

Here is an example of nanotag representing a 40 µm wide QR code in which two types of core-shell nanoparticles have been assembled: (1) β-NaYF4:Gd3+,Tm3+,Yb3+@NaYF4 and (2) β-NaYF4:Gd3+,Er3+,Yb3+@NaYF4 (Figure. 1). This nanotag is highly secured : (i) the synthesis of these specific nanoparticles is complex and their optical signature is unique and unforgeable (ii) the nanotag is only visible under a dedicated optical characterization set up associated with a powerful laser, the quantum yield of these nanoparticles being very low (a few %) (iii) owing to the assembly of the two types of nanoparticles (1) and (2), it is possible to combine multiple messages that are only appearing under certain conditions. Here, the entire QR code is photoluminescent when a 980 nm laser is employed, it generates an optical response in the blue wavelengths (485 nm) though a short pass 500 nm filter revealing only the emission of the nanoparticles (1) while a second message “31” is readable in green (545 nm) if two filters are used, a high pass 530 nm and a short pass 650 nm to only keep the response of the nanoparticles (2)

Figure 1 : AFM topographical image of a 40 µm x 40 µm QR code made of a binary NC assembly consisting of (i) green-upconverting β -NaYF4:Gd3+,Er3+,Yb3+@NaYF4and (ii) blue-upconverting β -NaYF4:Gd3+,Tm3+,Yb3+@NaYF4 nanoparticles (b)total upconversion photoluminescence mapping of this QR code; (c) blue (485nm) upconversion PL mapping after passing the light through a 500 nm short pass filter and (d) the number “31” hidden within the QR code is revealed in green (545 nm), only when the PL light is passed through 530 nm long pass and 650 nm short pass filters. From [1]

On another hand, the ANR « Nanotaggin » project on which the Nanotech team is presently working on proposes to use such nanotags to secure official documents like ID cards or passports. For this particular application, a choice has been made to have a simple reading device based on a smartphone. Consequently, it was mandatory to synthesize nanoparticles with a high photoluminescence. Figure 2 illustrate an example of 2 mm wide QR code (link to the team section on the lab website) realized in the frame of the Nanotaggin project with semiconductor quantum dots CdSe@CdS featuring a high quantum yield (60-70%). The QR code is lighted with a simple blue LED, observed though a smartphone camera equipped with a x20 lens and read via a common dedicated app.

Figure 2 : Reading example of the millimeter wide QR code nanotag excited with a simple blue LED, observed though a lens added on the smartphone camera

One of the objectives of this activity is to allow mass production of such nanomarkers. Thus, few fabrication techniques are developed in the team in collaboration with companies who produce associated equipments like Innopsys (Fr) or NILT (Dk). Below is an example of hundreds of thousands micrometric QR codes on a 4 inch wafer surface generated by electrical nanoimprint lithography, patented in the team (Figure3).

Figure 3 : Example of fabrication of hundreds of thousands micrometric QR codes in a single step on a large surface. From [2]

References

[1] N. M. Sangeetha, P. Moutet, D. Lagarde, G. Sallen, B. Urbaszek, X. Marie, G. Viau, L. Ressier, Nanoscale 2013, 5, 9587.

[2] R. Diaz, E. Palleau, D. Poirot, N. M. Sangeetha, L. Ressier, Nanotechnology 2014, 25, 345302.

* A collaboration with the companies Nanolike and SELP allowed to validate the transfer of these markers on flexible substrates owing to an intermediate sacrifical layer and their integration into PVC or PET credit card like supports, on an industrial production line. Nanolike took a license on one of the patent deposited by the Nanotech team to protect this discovery and was working on integrating them on ID documents. A first contract was won by Nanolike to apply this technology to authenticating the engineering diplomas delivered by INSA de Toulouse.

Figure 8 : Smartphone reading under blue LED excitation of 5mm wide securised markers that were composed of CdSe@CdS nanoparticles

* Biocompatible nanomarkers

RoHS europeen standarts requested a limitation over applications that include cadmium or lead –because of their high toxicity-. That’s why the Nanotech team decided to work on alternatives for their historical CdSe@CdS markers: enviro intelligent markers based on nanogels (hydrogel nanoparticles), nanoparticles that are nontoxic and biocompatible. The idea behind this approach is to benefit from the original properties of the high volume changes (swelling/shriking) of nanogels that they preserved once assembled on a substrate by nanoxerography. At that point, nanogels are thus capable of adsorbing, absorbing or desorbing on demand other species that have for instance a specific optical response (like fluorophores). Moreover, the extreme sensitivity of nanogels to electrostatic forces permitted to define a protocol in which they can assemble or disassemble on a same surface without any extra injection step. Finally, the Nanotech team has demonstrated that a same assembled surface can be entirely recycled to make new processes. All the results were smartly combined to propose a new generation of biocompatible markers with improved security and traceability levels (see Figure XXX).

Figure 9 : Scenario example in which nanogel based markers are used for the secured traceability of an electronic component

* Infrared nanomarkers

Recently, the research activities of the Nanotech team on this theme focus on new markers emitting in the infrared wavelengths following a hybrid approach with PbS particles. This study funded by the French Army aims at targeting military applications.

* Nanomarkers by UV microstructuration

To answer to a regular request from various companies, the Nanotech team proposed to develop a new assembly approach of colloidal nanoparticles allowing a simple and robust integration on various objects: the UV microstructuration of an epoxy nanocomposite (see figure XXX). This process consists in elaborating a composite material obtained by mixing nanoparticles of interest with a UV cross-linkable epoxy. This nanocomposite epoxy will then be applied locally on a random object of interest and topographically structured through a flexible PDMS stamp by UV nanoimprint.

Figure 10 : Principle of the UV microstructuration of a nanoparticle based epoxy composite

The generic aspect of this method is presently studied by applying it on various types of flat or curved surfaces of all kind (wood, metal, polymer, glass, textile,etc…). The compatibility of the epoxy with different nanoparticles will be also analyzed and the main synthesis criteria along with the adaptation of chemical properties of the epoxy will be identified.

This method might be another alternative to the 3D assembly by nanoxerography. In the case of secured markers, the multilayered 3D assembly is mandatory to obtain an optical response high enough to be readable through a smartphone. By topographically structuring a nanocomposite epoxy featuring luminescent nanoparticles, the optical response of the assembly might benefit from the entire response of all nanoparticles in volume. If this effect is confirmed, a new generation of secured and robust markers easily transferred on any type of object will see the light of day.

Laboratoire de Physique et Chimie des Nano-objets

Institut National des Sciences Appliquées
135 avenue de Rangueil, 31077 TOULOUSE CEDEX 4 - FRANCE
Tél : 00 33 05 61 55 96 45 | Fax : (+33) (0)5 61 55 96 97

Partenaires

CNRS
INSA


Choisir la langue du site


          Version Française           English Version

Rechercher

Sur ce site



Accueil du site > LPCNO > Équipes > Nanotech > Thématiques de recherche > Nanomarqueurs

Nanomarqueurs

En s’appuyant sur la technique d’assemblage dirigé de nanoxérographie, l’équipe a développé des étiquettes de marquage sécurisées également appelées nanomarqueurs ou nanotags.

Il s’agit de reproduire par assemblage dirigé électrostatique de nanoparticules colloïdales un logo, motif ou code de géométrie désirée dont les dimensions peuvent varier du micromètre au millimètre. Les nanoparticules assemblées ont des propriétés photoluminescentes qui peuvent être activées et observées sous certaines conditions expérimentales (grossissement, lumière d’intensité et de longueur d’onde spécifique, filtres,…) Ces nanomarqueurs sont ensuite transférés sur ou intégrés au produit d’intérêt (cartes plastiques, documents officiels, produits de luxe,etc…).

En fonction des applications visées, plusieurs types de nanoparticules sont synthétisés dans l’équipe et par la suite assemblés individuellement voire couplés en fonction du degré de sécurité/traçabilité à atteindre. Pour cela, il est possible de jouer sur la complexité de la synthèse des nanoparticules et leur rendement quantique, sur la taille et la géométrie du motif ou encore sur la complexité du système de lecture nécessaire.

Voici un exemple de nanotag représentant un QR code de 40 µm de côté sur lequel sont assemblés deux types de nanoparticules cœur coquille (1) β-NaYF4:Gd3+,Tm3+,Yb3+@NaYF4 et (2) β-NaYF4:Gd3+,Er3+,Yb3+@NaYF4 (Figure 1). Ce nanotag est hautement sécurisé : (i) la synthèse de ces nanoparticules est complexe et leur signature spectrale en photoluminescence est unique et infalsifiable (ii) le nanotag n’est visible qu’avec un banc optique de caractérisation dédié couplé à un laser puissant, le rendement quantique de ces nanoparticules étant extrêmement faible (de l’ordre du %) (iii) par assemblage des deux types de nanoparticules (1) et (2), il est possible de compiler plusieurs messages qui n’apparaissent que sous certaines conditions. Ici, le QR code entier apparaît en photoluminescence lorsque qu’un laser de longueur d’onde 980 nm est employé, il émet entièrement dans le bleu (485 nm) au travers d’un filtre passe bas 500 nm ne révélant que la réponse de l’assemblage des nanoparticules (1) alors qu’un second message avec le nombre « 31 » n’est visible que dans le vert (545 nm) qu’après utilisation de deux filtres, un passe haut 530 nm et un passe bas 650 nm afin de ne conserver que l’émission des nanoparticules (2).

Figure 1 : a) Image AFM d’un QR code de 40µm de côté réalisé par nanoxérographie de deux types de nanoparticules cœur coquille (1) β-NaYF4:Gd3+,Tm3+,Yb3+@NaYF4 et (2) β-NaYF4:Gd3+,Er3+,Yb3+@NaYF4 b) Cartographie complète en photoluminescence du QR code c) Cartographie en photoluminescence du nanotag à travers un filtre passe bas 500 nm : seule l’émission des nanoparticules (1) assemblées sur tout le motif du QR est visible (d) Cartographie en photoluminescence du nanotag à travers un filtre passe haut 530 nm et passe bas 650 nm : seule l’émission des nanoparticules (2) assemblées est à présent visible et révèle un autre message « 31 » invisible auparavant. Image tirée de [1]

Parallèlement, le projet ANR « Nanotaggin » sur lequel travaille l’équipe actuellement a pour but d’utiliser ce type de nanotags pour sécuriser des documents officiels de type carte d’identité ou passeport. Pour cette application particulière, le choix s’est porté sur un système de lecture portatif simple basé sur un smartphone. De fait, il a été obligatoire de synthétiser des nanoparticules qui possèdent naturellement une forte photoluminescence. La figure 2 ci-dessous illustre l’exemple d’un QR code (lien rubrique de l’équipe sur le site du laboratoire) de 2mm réalisé dans le cadre du projet Nanotaggin avec des quantum dots semiconducteurs CdSe@CdS de fort rendement quantique (60-70%). Ce dernier est éclairé par une simple LED bleue, observé via la caméra d’un smartphone équipé d’une lentille grossissante x20 et décodé grâce à une application classique.

Figure 2 : Exemple de lecture d’un nanotag millimétrique de type QR code excitée par la lumière d’une simple LED bleue et lu à travers une lentille grossissante ajoutée sur la caméra d’un smartphone

Un des objectifs de cette activité de recherche est de pouvoir fabriquer massivement ce type de nanomarqueurs. Plusieurs techniques de fabrication sont ainsi déployées dans l’équipe en partenariat avec des entreprises qui produisent des équipements dédiés comme Innopsys (Fr) ou NILT (Dk). Ci-dessous un exemple de la réalisation de centaines de milliers de QR code photoluminescents micrométriques sur une surface équivalente à celle d’un wafer 4 pouces via la technique de nanoimpression électrique, brevetée dans l’équipe (Figure 3).

Figure 3  : Exemple de réalisation de centaines de milliers de QR codes micrométriques en une étape sur une large surface. Image tirée de [2]

Références

[1] N. M. Sangeetha, P. Moutet, D. Lagarde, G. Sallen, B. Urbaszek, X. Marie, G. Viau, L. Ressier, Nanoscale 2013, 5, 9587.

[2] R. Diaz, E. Palleau, D. Poirot, N. M. Sangeetha, L. Ressier, Nanotechnology 2014, 25, 345302.

* Une collaboration avec les sociétés Nanolike et SELP a permis de valider le transfert de ces tags sur substrat souple en s’appuyant sur une couche intermédiaire sacrificielle et leur intégration dans des cartes PVC et PET de type carte bleue sur une chaine de production industrielle. Nanolike a fait l’acquisition d’une licence sur l’un des brevets déposés par l’équipe Nanotech pour protéger cette invention et travaille à leur intégration dans des documents d’identité sécurisés. Un premier contrat a été décroché par Nanolike pour l’authentification des diplômes d’ingénieur de l’INSA de Toulouse.

Figure 8 : lecture par smartphone sous excitation UV de marqueurs sécurisés luminescents de 5 mm de côté à base de nanoparticules de CdSe@CdS (redirigeant vers le site du laboratoire)

* Nanomarqueurs biocompatibles

Les directives européennes RoHS imposant une restriction des applications contenant du cadmium et plomb du fait de leur haute toxicité ont conduit l’équipe Nanotech à travailler sur des alternatives aux nanotags à base de nanoparticules CdSe@CdS : les marqueurs enviro-intelligents à base de nanoparticules d’hydrogel ou nanogels, nanoparticules non toxiques et biocompatibles. L’idée de cette approche a été d’exploiter les propriétés originales de fort changement volumique (gonflement/rétractation) des nanogels, conservées même une fois assemblés sur une surface par nanoxérographie, pour qu’ils puissent adsorber, absorder et désorber à la demande d’autres espèces ayant une réponse optique spécifique comme des fluorophores par exemple. En outre, l’extrême sensibilité des nanogels aux forces électrostatiques a permis de définir un protocole permettant de les assembler et désassembler sur une même surface plusieurs fois sans avoir à réitérer d’injection de charges. Enfin, l’équipe Nanotech a montré qu’une même surface d’assemblage pouvait être entièrement recyclée et servir à réaliser de nouveaux assemblages. L’ensemble de ces résultats a été combiné astucieusement pour proposer une nouvelle génération de tags biocompatibles comportant de nouveaux niveaux de sécurité et/ou traçabilité, illustré sur la figure 9.

Figure 9 : Exemple de scénario où les tags à base de nanogels sont utilisés pour la traçabilité sécurisée d’un composant électronique

* Nanomarqueurs IR

Actuellement, les activités de recherche de l’équipe sur cette thématique portent sur des marqueurs émettant dans les longueurs d’onde infrarouge en utilisant des approches hybrides avec des nanoparticules de type PbS. Cette étude financée par la DGA vise à adresser des équipements militaires.

* Nanomarqueurs par microstructuration UV

Pour répondre à une demande récurrente de divers industriels, l’équipe Nanotech propose de développer une nouvelle approche d’assemblage de nanoparticules colloïdales permettant une intégration simple et robuste sur divers objets : la microstructuration par UV d’une matrice adhésive à base de nanoparticules (Figure 10) Cette approche consiste à élaborer un matériau composite constitué des nanoparticules d’intérêt mélangées à une colle réticulable aux UV. Cette « colle composite » sera ensuite appliquée localement sur l’objet quelconque désiré et structurée topographiquement via un timbre souple PDMS par nano impression UV.

Figure 10 : principe de la microstructuration par UV d’une matrice adhésive à base de nanoparticules

L’aspect générique de cette technique sera étudié en l’appliquant sur des surfaces planes ou courbes de tout type (bois, métal, polymère, verre, textile, etc…). La compatibilité de la colle avec divers types de nanoparticules sera analysée et les critères clés de synthèse et adaptation des propriétés chimiques de la colle seront identifiés.

Cette méthode pourrait également constituer une alternative à l’assemblage 3D réalisé par nanoxérographie. Dans le cas des tags sécurisés, l’assemblage multicouche 3D est indispensable pour obtenir une réponse optique suffisante lisible par smartphone. En structurant topographiquement une colle composite incluant les nanoparticules luminescentes, la réponse optique de l’assemblage devrait bénéficier de l’ensemble des réponses en volume des nanoparticules. Si cela se confirmait, une nouvelle génération de tags sécurisés robustes et facilement intégrables sur tout type d’objet verrait le jour.