Laboratoire de Physique et Chimie des Nano-objets

Institut National des Sciences Appliquées
135 avenue de Rangueil, 31077 TOULOUSE CEDEX 4 - FRANCE
Tél : 00 33 05 61 55 96 45 | Fax : (+33) (0)5 61 55 96 97

Partenaires

CNRS
INSA


Choose your site's language


          Version Française           English Version

Search

On this website



Home page > LPCNO > Groups > Nanotech > Main research topics > Plasmo-electronic: “plasmonic photoconductance in free-standing monolayered gold nanoparticle membranes”

Plasmo-electronic: “plasmonic photoconductance in free-standing monolayered gold nanoparticle membranes”

Plasmo-electronic: “plasmonic photoconductance in free-standing monolayered gold nanoparticle membranes”.

In collaboration with Adnen Mlayah (CEMES / CNRS, NeO team) (adnen.mlayah@cemes.fr), we develop the plasmo-electronics field, coupling between plasmonic phenomenon and electron transport of metallic nanoparticles assemblies surrounded by organic ligands.

The Stencil membranes developed in this project are the result of a long collaboration with Jürgen Brugger (EPFL, https://people.epfl.ch/juergen.brug...)

Plasmonic metal nanostructures have recently attracted extensive research and been exploited for enhancing the performance of various optoelectronic devices [1–4]. Colloids composed of metallic nanoparticles (NPs) coated by organic ligands have been used to fabricate hybrid molecular networks contacted by nanoelectrodes [5–8]. Overall, coupling localized electron oscillations with charge transport leads to an emerging field called “plasmo-electronics” that could provide a new class of light responsive materials. In order to understand the interplay between surface plasmon resonance and electrical conductance and mechanisms at stake, it is primordial to lower the influence of parasite parameters such as substrate of the assemblies and to provide a model system (Fig. 1). So far, we managed to assemble robust, conductive, monolayered, free-standing NP arrays, so called NP membranes.

Fig 1 a) Schematic cross-section of a contacted freestanding monolayered Au nanoparticle (NP) membrane, under laser beam illumination. b) Scanning electron microscopy image of a freestanding monolayered dodecanethiol coated 7 nm Au NP membrane suspended over a 20 μm wide Si3N4 stencil aperture substrate with two gold microelectrodes as contacts. c) transmission electron microscopy (TEM) image of a freestanding monolayered membrane of 7 nm dodecanethiol coated Au NPs.

In this work, we investigate the photoconductance generation in NP membranes under focused laser illumination. We carried out that the amplitude of the induced current is correlated with the plasmonic resonance of the NP arrays (Fig. 2a) but also strongly depends of illumination power (Fig. 2b) and polarization voltage. The absence of a substrate also leads to a 50% raise of the photocurrent at the resonant wavelenght. DDA simulations showed that at least half of this increase is due to the optical properties of the substrate. Finally, accordingly to the temperature dependence of electrical conductance, the photocurrent in the free-standing NP membrane can be interpreted as a combination of a trap state dynamics and a thermally activated phenomenon yielding a temperature rise estimated at 40K at plasmon resonance for Ilaser 5.3kW/cm2. Intrinsic plasmo-electronic properties have been measured with no influence of a substrate allowing a superior transduction for better sensing or hyperthermia applications.

Fig 2 a) Normalized plasmonic photocurrent I_photo^norm and optical extinction spectrum of a freestanding monolayered membrane as a function of incident wavelength λinc. Inset: Electrical current as a function of time with the laser beam alternating from OFF to ON and back to OFF states (λinc = 638 nm, ILaser = 5.2 kW/cm2, +1V). The OFF and ON states are highlighted by grey and red areas, respectively. b) Plasmon-induced conductance Gphoto (red squares) as a function of illumination ILaser. The blue curve is the best-fitted curve using our model.

References:

[1] K. R. Catchpole and A. Polman, Appl. Phys. Lett., 2008, 93, 191113.

[2] H. A. Atwater and A. Polman, Nat. Mater., 2010, 9, 205–213.

[3] J. Liao, S. Blok, S. J. van der Molen, S. Diefenbach, A. W. Holleitner, C. Schönenberger, A. Vladyka and M. Calame, Chem Soc Rev, 2015, 44, 999–1014.

[4] T. Hashimoto, Y. Fukunishi, B. Zheng, Y. Uraoka, T. Hosoi, T. Shimura and H. Watanabe, Appl. Phys. Lett., 2013, 102, 083702.

[5] P. Banerjee, D. Conklin, S. Nanayakkara, T.-H. Park, M. J. Therien and D. A. Bonnell, ACS Nano, 2010, 4, 1019–1025.

[6] H. Nakanishi, K. J. M. Bishop, B. Kowalczyk, A. Nitzan, E. A. Weiss, K. V. Tretiakov, M. M. Apodaca, R. Klajn, J. F. Stoddart and B. A. Grzybowski, Nature, 2009, 460, 371–375.

[7] M. A. Mangold, C. Weiss, M. Calame and A. W. Holleitner, Appl. Phys. Lett., 2009, 94, 161104.

[8] M. A. Mangold, M. Calame, M. Mayor and A. W. Holleitner, J. Am. Chem. Soc., 2011, 133, 12185–12191.

Laboratoire de Physique et Chimie des Nano-objets

Institut National des Sciences Appliquées
135 avenue de Rangueil, 31077 TOULOUSE CEDEX 4 - FRANCE
Tél : 00 33 05 61 55 96 45 | Fax : (+33) (0)5 61 55 96 97

Partenaires

CNRS
INSA


Choisir la langue du site


          Version Française           English Version

Rechercher

Sur ce site



Accueil du site > LPCNO > Équipes > Nanotech > Thématiques de recherche > Plasmo-electronique : « photoconductance plasmonique dans des membranes de nanoparticules d’or monocouches suspendues »

Plasmo-electronique : « photoconductance plasmonique dans des membranes de nanoparticules d’or monocouches suspendues »

Plasmo-electronique : « photoconductance plasmonique dans des membranes de nanoparticules d’or monocouches suspendues ».

En collaboration avec Adnen Mlayah (CEMES/CNRS, équipe NeO) (adnen.mlayah@cemes.fr), nous développons le domaine de la plasmo-électronique, couplage entre phénomène plasmonique et transport électronique dans des assemblées de nanoparticules métalliques entourées de ligands organiques.

Les membranes Stencil développées dans ce projet sont le fruit d’une longue collaboration avec Jürgen Brugger(EPFL, https://people.epfl.ch/juergen.brug...)

Les nanostructures métalliques plasmoniques ont récemment attiré des nombreuses recherches afin de d’améliorer les performances de divers dispositifs optoélectroniques [1-4]. Les colloïdes composés de nanoparticules métalliques (NP) revêtus de ligands organiques ont été utilisés pour fabriquer des réseaux moléculaires hybrides mis en contact avec des nanoélectrodes [5-8]. D’un point de vue général, le couplage d’oscillations d’électrons localisées avec le transport de charges conduit à un champ disciplinaire émergent appelé "plasmo-electronics" qui pourrait fournir une nouvelle classe de matériaux sensibles à la lumière. Afin de comprendre l’interaction entre la résonance du plasmon de surface et la conductance électrique et les mécanismes en jeu, il est primordial de réduire l’influence des paramètres parasites, comme le substrat sur lequel reposent les assemblées de NPs et ainsi fournir un système modèle d’étude des propriétés intrinsèques (figure 1).

Grâce à notre développement de la lithographie Stencil, nous avons réussi à créer des assemblées de NP robustes, conductrices, monocouches et suspendus, appelées membranes de NPs (figure 1).

Fig. 1 a) Section transverse schématique d’une membrane de nanoparticule (NP) monocouche contactée et suspendue, sous éclairage d’un faisceau laser. B) Image de microscopie électronique à balayage d’une membrane monocouche de NPs d’Au de 7 nm revêtue d’un ligand dodécanothiol suspendue sur un substrat de stencil de Si3N4 de 20 μm de large avec deux microélectrodes en Au comme contact. C) image en microscopie électronique à transmission (TEM) d’une membrane monocouche de ces NPs d’Au de 7 nm avec ligand dodécanothiol.

Fort de ce système modèle, nous étudions notamment dans ce projet de recherche, la génération de photoconductance dans les membranes à NP sous un éclairement laser focalisé. Nous avons pu montrer que l’amplitude du courant induit est corrélée avec la résonance plasmonique des réseaux de NP (figure 2a), mais également qu’elle dépend aussi fortement de la puissance d’illumination (figure 2b) et de la tension de polarisation. Ce qui est très intéressant, c’est que l’absence de substrat conduit à une élévation de 50% du photocourant à la longueur d’onde de résonance plasmon. Les simulations de DDA ont montré qu’au moins la moitié de cette augmentation est liée aux propriétés optiques du substrat. Enfin, en fonction de la dépendance à la température de la conductance électrique, le photocourant dans la membrane de NP suspendu peut être interprété comme une combinaison d’une dynamique d’état de piège et d’un phénomène activé thermiquement produisant une élévation de température estimée à 40K à la résonance plasmon pour une illumination Ilaser 5.3 KW/cm2.

Les propriétés plasmo-électroniques intrinsèques ont été mesurées sans influence d’un substrat permettant une transduction supérieure pour une meilleure détection. Cette élévation de température ouvre la voie à des applications en hyperthermie grâce à l’utilisation des plasmons.

Fig. 2 a) Photocourant plasmonique Iphoto et spectre d’extinction optique en fonction de la longueur d’onde incidente λinc d’une membrane monocouche suspendue. Insert : courant électrique en fonction du temps avec un faisceau laser alternant de OFF à ON et ON à OFF (λinc = 638 nm, ILaser = 5.2 kW/cm2, + 1V). Les états OFF et ON sont mis en évidence respectivement par des zones grises et rouges. B) Conductivité induite par plasmon Gphoto (carrés rouges) en fonction de l’illumination ILaser. La courbe bleue est le fit obtenue grâce à notre modèle théorique.

REFERENCES :

[1] K. R. Catchpole and A. Polman, Appl. Phys. Lett., 2008, 93, 191113.

[2] H. A. Atwater and A. Polman, Nat. Mater., 2010, 9, 205–213.

[3] J. Liao, S. Blok, S. J. van der Molen, S. Diefenbach, A. W. Holleitner, C. Schönenberger, A. Vladyka and M. Calame, Chem Soc Rev, 2015, 44, 999–1014.

[4] T. Hashimoto, Y. Fukunishi, B. Zheng, Y. Uraoka, T. Hosoi, T. Shimura and H. Watanabe, Appl. Phys. Lett., 2013, 102, 083702.

[5] P. Banerjee, D. Conklin, S. Nanayakkara, T.-H. Park, M. J. Therien and D. A. Bonnell, ACS Nano, 2010, 4, 1019–1025.

[6] H. Nakanishi, K. J. M. Bishop, B. Kowalczyk, A. Nitzan, E. A. Weiss, K. V. Tretiakov, M. M. Apodaca, R. Klajn, J. F. Stoddart and B. A. Grzybowski, Nature, 2009, 460, 371–375.

[7] M. A. Mangold, C. Weiss, M. Calame and A. W. Holleitner, Appl. Phys. Lett., 2009, 94, 161104.

[8] M. A. Mangold, M. Calame, M. Mayor and A. W. Holleitner, J. Am. Chem. Soc., 2011, 133, 12185–12191.